Principal Investigator

Scott A. Hughes
On sabbatical Fall 2012/Spring 2013; splitting time between the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics (CITA) at the University of Toronto, and the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics (PI) in Waterloo; sabbatical generously supported by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, PI, and CITA.

Graduate students

Stephen O'Sullivan
Uchupol Ruangsri

UROP students

None at present. Interested MIT students are welcome to inquire, though there are unlikely to be openings for some time.


Alessandra Buonanno (University of Maryland)
Neil Cornish (Montana State University)
Éanna Flanagan (Cornell University)
Daniel Holz (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Gaurav Khanna (University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth)
Richard Price (University of Texas, Brownsville)


Joel Franklin (now Associate Professor, Reed College)
Samaya Nissanke (now at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory)
Ilya Mandel (now Lecturer, University of Birmingham)
Nicolás Yunes (now Assistant Professor, Montana State University)

Nathan Collins (now at University of California, Irvine)
Ryan Lang (now at Washington University)
Leo Stein (now NASA Einstein Fellow, Cornell University)
Pranesh Sundararajan (now at Morgan Stanley)
Sarah Vigeland (now NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, Jet Propulsion Laboratory)

Joel Corbo (Class of 2004)
Colin Hill (Class of 2008)
Pei-Lan Hsu (Class of 2005)
Terral Jordan (Class of 2007)
Akash Kansagra (Class of 2004)
Hugo Marrochio (Class of 2011)
Peter Reinhardt (Class of 2012; more content, directly relevant to our group, here)
William Throwe (Class of 2010)
Terrence Torres (Class of 2008)